One version There are no longer distinct Personal and Enterprise versions of Timeless Time & Expense or Timeless Project Tracking 3.0. Instead, you are given a choice during installation of operating in Personal or Enterprise mode.
Invoicing A new invoice management feature has been added to version 3. Because of this change, the Invoice report is no longer available. When upgrading, invoice reports are converted to un-posted invoices. Invoices using a relative data range (Current Month, etc.) need to be edited to select specific dates.
Invoices are linked to specific work items. You can find the converted invoices by going to the Invoice pane and selecting the work item that was selected in the original invoice.
Shared Reports Shared reports have been changed in version 3.0. Shared reports are more flexible in what they can contain and who they may be shared with. For this reason, each report is owned by the person who created it. Since previous versions allowed anyone with Create Shared Report permissions to change a shared report, converted shared reports must be given an owner. During the conversion, the owner has been set to the built-in administrator, TTEAdmin. To change the owner, log in as TTEAdmin, right-click to shared report and select the Change Owner popup menu item.
Other changes In addition to the new features of version 3, some functionality has moved. The Task properties of version 2.6 can now be found on the Plan pane. With the addition of built-in reports, custom reports have moved to the Report pane. The ability to choose columns on the Track pane is now done by pressing the columns button on the individual tabs. System configuration items previously found on the Tools | Options menu item, and license information is now located under the Tools | Administration menu item.
Installing When installing, previous versions of Timeless Time & Expense are not removed. You can remove them later using the Add/Remove programs.
There are two versions of the Windows installation. One that includes SQL Server 2005 Express and one that doesn't. If you will be installing a new installation and want to install SQL Server 2005 Express with your installation, or are currently using Timeless MSDE and want to upgrade it to SQL Server Express 2005 you should download the installation that includes SQL Server 2005 Express.
If you are using MS Access or your own SQL Server installation, you should download the install without SQL Server 2005 Express.
Additionally, all client installs can use the version without SQL Server 2005 Express. Note - the smaller version can still install SQL Server 2005 Express, but it will be downloaded during installation, resulting in a longer installation process.
Once installed, you will start with a 30-day trial of version 3.
MS Access databases During installation you have the options to create or upgrade an existing Timeless Time & Expense Access database. During the upgrade, a new 3.0 database will be created. Your existing *.tmd database file will not be changed and can still be opened in the old version. Note - when upgrading a Timeless Access database to the new version 3 format, user passwords will be cleared. Be sure to have users reset their passwords after logging in the first time.
Timeless MSDE databases If you would like to upgrade your existing Timeless MSDE to SQL Server 2005 Express, run the installation on the machine running the Timeless MSDE database server. If not, you can upgrade the database during the installation on the first client install. When upgrading, the current database will be changed for version 3.0. While the installation should backup the database before upgrading it, we recommend you make a backup before starting. After the database has been upgraded it can not be opened in previous versions of Timeless Time & Expense.
SQL Server databases If your are upgrading a database on your own SQL Server, you can upgrade the database during the first client installation. When upgrading, the current database will be changed for version 3.0. While the installation should backup the database before upgrading it, we recommend you make a backup before starting. After the database has been upgraded it can not be opened in previous versions of Timeless Time & Expense.news & articles